Into the forbidden.

Hasselblad 500cm 80mmCF, Acros.
Wat Phra Si Sanphet, Ayuthaya, Thailand. March 2011.

I should not have been here. See the interesting thing about this one is that in my some what delirious state of mind, as I wandered around these temples mid morning in a fairly decent heat and humidity, i managed to wander up a set of stairs that had me somewhere I wasnt meant to be. Heres me staring at the scene your seeing, thinking that even though the suns high im excited to get a few picts. I line it all up and pop off one or two shots.

After that I wander over to the set of stairs there and head on in, not entirely sure what ill see. I get in there and the first thing I hear is bats. Then as my eyes adjust I see that this is some place special which is apparent by the amount of ornaments and statues lined up all over. There is a picture or two framed and faded of some person unknown staring back at me propped up against a dirt pile here and there. The area was not big and there were numerous tunnels heading off in several directions which would require crawling. I thought it best to leave.

On my exit of the area I found that there was a no access sign posted on the other side from where I had climbed up, and then I read that the center of this tower was a tomb and was very sacred.

A little shocked to say the least. I never should have been there.

Its strange looking at this pict now with its weird glow around this door way.

Posted on April 29, 2011, in Photography, Places. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

